This past week, the Big Brother 23 houseguests celebrated their halfway point through the game. And unfortunately for Britini D’Angelo, she’s spent most of that time nominated. In a season full of chaotic strategy, secret alliances, and last-minute gambits, the kindergarten teacher ended up being on the receiving end of many plans as a perpetual pawn. But the fourth time on the (karate) chopping block for Britini was the charm, as she went from Kyland Young’s target to pawn over his two Head of Household reigns. Britini was protected from the absolute chaos of the first week via the safety from her fellow Joker Brandon “Frenchie” French. But that association came back to bite her the very next week when she was nominated next to the farmer for being one of the only people not to throw him under the bus to Kyland. While she was initially shocked and furious, she was never in any danger of leaving. Unfortunately, this opened her up to be used as an easy nomination, especially as one of the few houseguests not part of the majority “Cookout” or “Royal Flush” alliances. As a result, she saw the block in Weeks 3 and 5 as well. Though with the latter, she was able to work her off the block with a workout veto win, in an impressive performance. Unfortunately, the actions of this past week had Britini shaking her head more vigorously than in that competition. With Kyland HoH once more, she brokered a deal to keep each other safe, which he initially accepted. And indeed, initially Kyland was eyeing other targets in Claire Rehfuss and Alyssa Lopez. But his Cookout allies convinced him that Britini was the biggest variable left in the BB23 equation. What also didn’t help was the new “BB Bucks” twist and the High Rollers’ Room. Britini received the highest amount of $100 from the fans and felt confident she didn’t need to spend them this week. Unfortunately, her net worth only made her more threatening to the rest of the house. Despite a last-minute plea to Kyland and some plans in the work to evict her blockmate Derek Frazier, it was too late. The Cookout cooked Britini’s came, as she “rapped” things up and went off to the jury last night. Now on the way to the jury house, Britini talks with Parade.com about the difficulty in negotiating your emotions in the house, why she was open about her BB Bucks, and her up and down relationship with Kyland. How did being nominated so early on change your gameplay? Being nominated Week 2 changed everything about my gameplay, to be completely honest with you. I knew being nominated early on that I was going to be nominated in the sequential weeks. It’s just how this game works. So instead of playing the cutthroat game I wanted to play coming into the house, I really had to play my game on the block, which is a really interesting way to play your game. Obviously, you’re the center of attention. But I tried to use the block to my advantage. I got unsolicited one on one time with every houseguest every time I was on the block. So the more INformation I could get when I was on the block, the better. I almost used being on the block to my advantage in the house. I’m in the center of everyone’s eyes anyway. Let me see if I can further my game and make something out of being on the block in this really weird predicament. It changed everything. You had several emotional moments during your time in the house. How tough was it to negotiate those real emotions in such a cutthroat game? The thing about the Big Brother house is that trying to negotiate your personal emotions with your game emotions can be really difficult. I’m really unique in that situation. No one in that house had to fight as hard as I did starting Day 1. So I really did have a lot of real, raw emotions in that house. And I had a lot of game emotions as well. The way I dealt with them was separating them for me in the house. You have to recognize “this emotion is personal to this person, and this one is just game-related because it sucks.” Me being nominated sucks. When I was nominated on Derek X.’s HoH, I’m pissed because I’m nominated again. But at the same token, in my head, I’m like, “It’s not personal because I know I’m coming off the block at some point.” For me, differentiating between the two was extremely important in how I handled my emotions in the house. Kyland nominated you twice, though you tried to extend a deal to him earlier in the week. What are your feelings on your relationship and him as a player? I don’t have a relationship with Kyland! (Laughs.) When you nominate me both times when you’re HoH, that extends a message to me that you don’t want to work with me. Which I’m totally okay with; I would rather you be upfront with me about that. I do not respect the way Kyland plays the game in all aspects. Right when I was nominated, I was threatened multiple times to not campaign against him, or else he would start campaigning against me. Or the fact I had a lack of comprehension about our deal, or him throwing me and my teammates losing the veto in our faces like we suck. He made a lot of really rude comments last week that showed his true colors. I don’t respect the game he’s playing. I respect the fact that if you think I’m the most unpredictable person in the house, that’s the reason to get me out. I understand that from a game perspective. From how he’s playing the game in general, I don’t respect the way he’s going about it. I made a pact to myself when I came into the house that I was going to be 100% Britini 100% of the time, unapologetically myself. And I did that. I can’t say the same for him because right now, as you all saw, words and actions were not lining up for him. I respect the game move, but I don’t respect the way he went about it at all. You chose to bank your BB Bucks this week and told a few houseguests about the $100 you got. What made you decide to do both of these things? I decided to bank my BB Bucks because, as I said, I really was intentional about the deal I made with Kyland. And it was his idea to make a deal with me that week! Let’s remember that. He’s the one who brought up the deal and allowed me to insert a clause for myself in there, which I didn’t even think was possible in a deal where you’re the HoH! So let’s not forget how the deal went down. But I decided to BB Bucks because I thought my deal was genuine, and I wanted my chance to play in the roulette and earn my safety. I also really felt I could 100% trust Azah and Big D in the house. And obviously, I was going to share my $100 with them, and those were the only people I shared it with. But obviously, I gotta share it with Big D and Azah! We’re like a family. It was like coming home on Christmas Day. I was not going to hide that from them one bit. Let’s finish with some rapid-fire thoughts about your fellow houseguests. Starting with Alyssa. Strong. Oh that girl is strong as hell! (Laughs.)Azah. My queen! Beautiful, lovely, extravagant, amazing.Claire. Loyal. Extremely, extremely loyal.Derek F. My big brother! Absolutely incredible.Derek X. One hell of a competitor. He’s going to go so far in this game; I know it for a fact. It’s going to be great.Hannah. Extremely fashionable. But in a game sense, I would say reserved.Kyland. Talkative. (Laughs.) Just talkative. He likes to talk a lot.Sarah Beth. Sweet. But I don’t think I know everything about Sarah Beth. I’m curious to see if there’s anything she’s been hiding from us.Tiffany. Huge personality, but in the absolutely best way. Very down to earth.And finally, Xavier. I love Xavier! I would just say “loving.” He was like the dad of the house. Next, check out our interview with Christian Birkenberger, who was evicted in Week 5.

Big Brother 23  Britini D Angelo Post Eviction Interview  2021  - 85