“We got home [from a trip to Cabo] and about two weeks later I was like, ‘Wait a minute, my boobs are feeling very big and very sore. I haven’t started my period yet,’ Jenna said, breaking the news to People magazine. “So, I peed on a stick and immediately it just turned positive. The shock and just disbelief was insane. I couldn’t believe it because it wasn’t an easy journey for us to get pregnant.” Jenna and Val had been trying for a while, but it took the relaxing trip to Cabo, away from the stress of everyday life for the magic to happen. So how did she break the news to her husband? “I went and I got these little Baby Jordans, these white sneakers,” she told the magazine. “I put them in a box that was his size of Nikes. So, he didn’t expect anything. Then I put two little pregnancy tests in there. I had been shaking at home waiting for him to come home. So, he nonchalantly walked in and he, ironically enough, had a bag of Nikes. I was like, ‘Did you go shopping today?’ He was like, ‘Yeah, I got myself some new sneakers.’ I’m like, ‘No way. I got some too today.’” When Val looked at the sneakers in the box from Jenna, he was taken back by the small size of the shoes, until it dawned on him that they were having a baby! “Then it hit him and his face … it was priceless,” Jenna said. Because her pregnancy didn’t come easy, Jenna has been cautious about her activities during her first trimester—she’s just shy of the second trimester—and cut back on her workouts, dancing, and also has focused on her state of mind. “I’ve just made it a priority for myself to really make a shift and to prioritize the baby and what was happening and all of these new changes,” she said. “I’m just giving my body the necessary rest. I think that’s the best thing I can do for myself. It’s also just taught me that I can be OK with downtime. I don’t need to overwork myself." As for what kind of dad Jenna thinks Val will be, she said, “If he is anything like he is as a husband, he’s going to be the best dad in the world. He is so selfless and loving. Between the two of us, he is by far the more patient one. So, I think, all of these little attributes are going to just make him an incredible dad.” Check out the sweet Instagram posts Val and Jenna posted sharing the news. Next, Everything You Know About Dancing with the Stars Season 31, Including Its New Hosts