Months after the nuptials, rumors swirled in the press that Markle made Kate cry at a dress fitting for Princess Charlotte. “The narrative about Kate, which didn’t happen, was really difficult,” Markle said, noting that it was a “tipping point” for her relationship with The Firm and her role as a senior royal. She denied ever making Middleton cry, explaining, “The reverse happened, and I don’t say that to be disparaging to anyone, because it was a really hard week of the wedding. But she was upset about something, and she apologized and bought me flowers and wrote a note.” Markle added, “Six, seven months after our wedding that the reverse of that would be out in the world? I would have never wanted that to come out about her, even though it happened. A few days before the wedding she was upset about something pertaining to, yes, the flower girl dresses, and it made me cry and it really hurt my feelings. And I thought in the context of everything else it didn’t make sense to not do what everyone else was doing, which was being supportive,” she said, adding that the issues with her father were well-known within the family leading up to the wedding. “It wasn’t a confrontation, and I don’t think it’s fair to her to get into the details of that because she apologized and I forgave her for that.” She added that Kate “is a good person” and that it was the media spin reversing their roles in the story that was what was incredibly hard for her to get over. “Everyone in my world was given clear directive since Harry and I started dating to always say ’no comment,’” Markle said, adding that she was told that she would be protected if they just didn’t comment. “It was only once we were married and everything sort of started to worsen that I realized I wasn’t being protected, but that they were willing to lie to protect other members of the family but not tell the truth to protect me and my husband.” Markle previously claimed that she felt “unprotected” by The Firm, especially while she was pregnant with Archiein 2018 and 2019. Harry said on Carpool Karaoke With James Cordenthat he saw their move not as “stepping down,” but instead as “stepping back” to protect their mental health. Next, 20 bombshell revelations from Meghan and Harry’s interview.

Kate Middleton Made Meghan Markle Cry  She Tells Oprah Winfrey - 81