Of course, it may not be the last we ever see of him. Steven D. Binder, Executive Producer/Showrunner, NCIS, released the following statement by way of encouragement: “As an executive producer and dear friend, Mark continues to be an integral part of the fabric of the show. Our north star has always been staying true to our characters, and that truth has always guided the stories we tell and where those characters go. So, regarding the future of Gibbs, as long-time fans of the show may have noticed over the years…never count Leroy Jethro Gibbs out.” Of course, Gibbs went out on a high note. Two arrests were made in conjunction with the hit man case that involved Harmon’s real-life wife Pam Dawber as journalist Marcie Warren and the Sanova corporation, which was going to destroy the environment in Alaska and the salmon spawning waters, so there were no loose strings that he left undone, but it wasn’t the case that was important, it was his goodbyes with his fellow cast members, Sean Murray (McGee), Wilmer Valderrama (Torres), Rocky Carroll (Leon Vance) and David McCallum (Ducky)

The Best Moments from Gibbs’ Goodbye

Gibbs Thanks Leon Vance at the Diner

Gibbs: I’m head to Alaska. I’m going to this little town, called… Leon (interrupts): Don’t say another word. After what you did, taking off with the suspect in Parker’s car, the FBI is going to want to talk to you, and when they can’t find you , they will come to me, and I won’t lie. Gibbs: I wouldn’t want you to. Leon: I brought you something you could use for your trip up north. A satellite phone. Gibbs: Thank you. I really appreciate this. I could use one more thing. McGee. Leon: I know. He wouldn’t fit in the bag. Gibbs dunks his cell phone into his cup of coffee. Leon: Well, it had a good run. You okay? Gibbs: I wanted to say thank you, Leon. For everything. They shake hands.

Ducky Expresses His Concern for Gibbs

Ducky visits Gibbs at home as Gibbs is packing to go to Alaska. Ducky: I worry about you. You’ve had to endure a great deal in the last six months. Sloane and Bishop leaving, the assault, your arrest, the suspension, not to mention the blowing up of your boat. Milestone events such as these, they stack up on each other and build internal pressure. It can happen to anyone, even you. Gibbs: What do you want me to say? Ducky: I want you to say, “There’s nothing to worry about, Duck.” Gibbs: There’s nothing to worry about, Duck. Ducky: I wish I believed you. Gibbs: I wish I believed me, too. You’re right. Lately, I’ve been searching. I don’t know what I’m looking for. I know being alone without the job that was hard. Ducky: Then come back. Gibbs. That is even harder. Ducky: At least we’ve completed step one. We’ve identified the problem. The two men hug, and Gibbs tells Ducky, “You are a great friend.”

Torres Drives Gibbs to the Airport

Gibbs: How are you? Torres: I’m doing good. Gibbs: Come on, the truth. Torres: I am getting by. Some days are better than others. I’ll be fine. Gibbs: You are a helluva agent, Nick. You’ve got instincts that don’t come along often, but more important, you are a good man. Do me a favor though, don’t let this job become all that there is. Take care of you. Torres: What about you, Gibbs? Are you good? Gibbs: I will be fine.

Gibbs’ Final Goodbye to McGee

The two men are fishing. McGee: You OK? Gibbs: I’ve never been better. McGee: I know what you mean. This place is very special. I can’t wait to come back one day. Gibbs: I hope you do. McGee: The pilot is ready. Just waiting on us. Gibbs: I’m not going back, Tim. McGee: To work? Gibbs: Well, that, too. I’m not going back home. McGee: You staying here? For how long. Gibbs: Not sure. McGee: You realize we are in the middle of nowhere. We are 50 miles from anyone or anything. Gibbs: Not a bad thing. McGee: Boss, that’s crazy. What are you thinking? Gibbs: I’m thinking, I don’t have another boat left to build. McGee: Then we’ll find you another hobby. Gibbs: I’m not looking for another hobby. McGee: Then what are you looking for? Gibbs: My gut’s telling me I will know when I find it. McGee: And you think you will find it here? Gibbs: I don’t know. Whatever I’m feeling, this sense of peace, I have not had this since Shannon and Kelly died, and I’m not ready to let it go. McGee: So, that’s it? Gibbs: I could not have had anyone better to watch my back for the last 18 years than you, Tim. They hug. Gibbs: I love you, man. McGee: I love you, too. Promise me you’ll be okay. Gibbs: I already am. And as McGee flies back to D.C., Gibbs resumes fishing.

FBI Agent Parker Is Not Such a Bad Guy!

As for Gary Cole’s FBI Special Agent Alden Parker, he turned out not to be such a bad guy. Even though his boss FBI Deputy Director Wayne Sweeney (Erik Passoja) issued a warrant for Gibbs’ arrest, Parker set Gibbs free and promised not to testify against him for stealing his car with the suspect in it. It turned out that Parker called Fornell (Joe Spano) who gave him the real goods on Gibbs. Parker got fired for not following orders, but as Vance said, “Sometimes there are more important things than following orders.” Which leads me to think that Vance may hire Parker. After all, Kate (Sasha Alexander) got hired by NCIS after being fired by the Secret Service for helping Gibbs in an investigation in the series premiere, so there is a precedent.

Is this the last season of NCIS?

We don’t know yet if this the last season of NCIS. Producers seem to be wrapping up many of the show’s major arc and answering some of fans’ biggest questions.

Why is Mark Harmon leaving NCIS?

Rumor has it, series star Mark Harmon was “ready to leave" his role as Leroy Jethro Gibbs in the mothership series when his contract expires at the end of season 18. That is, he was until the network informed him that if he left, they would cancel the show. THR reported at the time that Harmon was in negotiations to appear in a “handful” of episodes if CBS renews NCIS for its 19th season (which it did). Turns out that “handful” was four!

How old is Ducky on NCIS?

We’ve never been told exactly how old Ducky is on NCIS. But we can infer that he’s a bit old based on the age of David McCallum, the actor who has portrayed the retired doctor and former medical examiner. McCallum was born on September 19, 1933, in Glasgow, England, which makes his 88 years old. NCIS airs Monday nights at 9 p.m. ET/PT on CBS. Next, Where’s Gibbs? Everything We Know So Far About NCIS Season 19

NCIS Shocker  Mark Harmon Says Goodbye to His Role as Gibbs  2021  - 35NCIS Shocker  Mark Harmon Says Goodbye to His Role as Gibbs  2021  - 73NCIS Shocker  Mark Harmon Says Goodbye to His Role as Gibbs  2021  - 64NCIS Shocker  Mark Harmon Says Goodbye to His Role as Gibbs  2021  - 99