During last Wednesday’s episode, Osbourne defended her friend Piers Morgan, who left his ITV show Good Morning Britain after making controversial comments about Meghan Markle’s interview with Oprah Winfrey. “I feel like I’m about to be put in the electric chair because I have a friend, who many people think is a racist, so that makes me a racist?” Osbourne said. “What’s it gotta do with me?” After a commercial break, Osbourne continued, “I will ask you again Sheryl. I’ve been asking you during the break. I’m asking you again. And don’t try and cry because if anyone should be crying, it should be me. This is the situation. You tell me where you have heard him say…educate me. Tell me when you have heard him say racist things! Educate me! Tell me!” Underwood replied, “It is not the exact words of racism. It’s the implication and the reaction to it. To not want to address that because she is a Black woman, and to try to dismiss it or to make it seem less than what it is. That’s what makes it racist. But right now, I’m talking to a woman who I believe is my friend and I don’t want anybody here to watch this and [think] we are attacking you for being racist." Osbourne added, “I think it’s too late. I think that seed’s already sown.” Following the heated exchange, Osbourne released a statement on Friday apologizing. “After some reflection, after sitting with your comments and sitting with my heart I would like to address the discussion on The Talk this past Wednesday. I have always been embraced with so much love and support from the Black community and I have deep respect and love for the Black community. To anyone of color that I offended and/or to anyone that feels confused or let down by what I said, I am truly sorry,” she wrote. “I panicked, felt blindsided, got defensive and allowed my fear and horror of being accused of being racist take over. There are very few things that hurt my heart more than racism so to feel associated with that spun me fast! I am not perfect, I am still learning like the rest of us and will continue to learn, listen and do better.” Osbourne stressed that she does “not condone racism, misogyny or bullying.” She wrote, “I will always support freedom of speech, but now I see how I unintentionally didn’t make that clear distinction. I hope we can collectively continue to learn from each other and from ourselves so we can all continue to pave the way for much-needed growth and change. The community on this platform means a lot to me. I hope we can all hold each other up with accountability, compassion and love during this powerful time of paving the way for so much needed change.” Next, 53 of the best vintage photos of Queen Elizabeth through the years!

The Talk Going on Hiatus After Sharon Osbourne Defends Piers Morgan  - 22