Harry and Meghan’s relationship with Perry began when he sent the Duchess a supportive message amid the firestorm of negative tabloid articles about her. During their move away from the British royal family to North America, Meghan reached out to Perry, who eventually offered the couple use of his $18 million mansion in Beverly Hills until they settled in their own $14 million Montecito home. Emma McIntyre/Getty Images After Lili was born, he recalled that they reached out to him once more and that they sounded more somber than usual in their conversation with him, leading him to worry at first that something had gone wrong for the Sussexes. “I go, ‘Okay, what’s going on?’ They said, ‘Well, we’d like for you to be Lili’s godfather,’” Perry recalled. “I go, ‘Whoa!’ I had to take a minute to take that in. And I thought, ‘I’d be honored. I’d absolutely be honored.’ " Netflix However, there were some caveats for the self-made billionaire. “I called them back and go, ‘Uh, hold on a second—does this mean we gotta go over [to the U.K.] and do all of that in church with [the royals] and figure all that out? ‘Cause I don’t wanna do that,’ " he added. He said he offered the family to have a “little private ceremony” in U.S., but that if they needed to cross the pond that “then that’s OK.” Next, see Meghan Markle’s style evolution, from actress to royal to escaping The Firm.

Tyler Perry Is Godfather to Harry and Meghan s Daughter Lilibet - 2Tyler Perry Is Godfather to Harry and Meghan s Daughter Lilibet - 95