Of course, a lot of that could be attributed to the fact that Heughan was a relative unknown back when Gabaldon was writing Outlander, the first book in the series, which came out in 1991, and even the second book in the series, 1992’s Dragonfly in Amber.

So who did Gabaldon want as Jamie Fraser?

“Liam Neeson and Sir Sean Connery were the first contenders for Jamie,” Gabaldon admits. “Now this was years ago when my early books were optioned for a feature film. People kept asking me who I would cast, and they were the first two who sprang to mind. I was just thinking in general terms of large Celtic-looking men who could pull it off and both Liam and Sean were built that way and looked great in a kilt.” When Outlander eventually became a TV series for Starz, Neeson and Connery were too old for the role, but Gabaldon still didn’t think Heughan was their guy–even after seeing photos of him. However, once executive producer Maril Davis showed Gabaldon Heughan’s screen test, she knew they had found their Jamie Fraser.

What does Gabaldon think of Heughan as Jamie now?

“Maril and I were both clutching our chests when we were watching Sam’s audition thinking, ‘Oh my God, this is actually him,’” Gabaldon—who now would not change Heughan for the world—told Express.com. The sixth season of Outlander will finally premiere on March 6, 2022. It’s based on An Echo in the Bone, Gabaldon’s seventh Outlander novel, and will reunite Jamie and Claire (Caitriona Balfe) in the continuing saga of the time-traveling lovers. “I could not be happier with Catriona and Sam as my hero and heroine,” Gabaldon said at the book launch. “They are just wonderful. Sam is just everything. He is a lovely guy who has become a good friend. We have a connection as he has brought the character to life, and I have provided him with a job.” Gabaldon also added, “Jamie and Claire have become more than family, they are part of me. They have been my constant companions since I wrote my first book about them 30 years ago. Finding the perfect actors to play them and my other characters is no mean feat, but the show has managed to do so and I could not be happier. It’s fascinating watching the story come to life on screen.”

What’s next for Gabaldon and Outlander?

During the Random House live event to promote Season 6 of Outlander, which will pick up where Season 5 ended, Gabaldon shared her favorite moments of the coming season. “One is set in flashbacks at Ardsmuir Prison, and it has to do with Jamie and Tom Christie. Another is with Tom Christie and Claire in her surgery,” she said. Now that Go Tell the Bees That I Am Gone has been released, Gabaldon is starting to work on the tenth novel in her Outlander series—and she’s hinted that it may not be the last! She told fans, “It depends on Jamie and Claire. If they’re not ready to die yet, I guess I will have to go on.” Outlander Season 6 will premiere with an extended episode on Sunday, March 6, 2022 on Starz. You can go to starz.com and sign up for $5.99 a month to watch every episode when they drop. Next, Sam Heughan Just Shared a New Outlander Pic! Plus, What Caitriona Balfe Said About Season 6 and the Premiere Date Revealed!

Who Diana Gabaldon Wanted As Jamie Fraser on Outlander  Sam Heughan Wasn t Her First Choice - 57Who Diana Gabaldon Wanted As Jamie Fraser on Outlander  Sam Heughan Wasn t Her First Choice - 42