Ha-Joon, who stars as Hwang Jun-ho on the series, is enjoying his rise from K-drama star to certified worldwide sex symbol, but he takes his work quite seriously, especially when it comes to improving Asian representation onscreen. “It is truly a great honor to be part of that through Squid Game, to be loved by so many fans and to show off K-content to the world,” he told Vulture. “I hope that in the future we continue to see more diverse Asian representation in many diverse roles and that I can contribute to letting the world enjoy Korean content through some new and original works going forward.” Who is Wi Ha-Joon? Learn all about the Squid Game breakout hottie, but beware of potential Squid Game spoilers ahead!

Who does Wi Ha-Joon play in the Netflix series Squid Game?

Ha-Joon stars as police officer Hwang Jun-ho, who goes undercover in the deadly games in an effort to find his missing brother. “I went to the audition with the greed that I had to do this project because it was with such amazing actors and an amazing director. I really wanted to do well,” he said in a recent interview about the series (via Soompi). “When I first saw the script, even though Jun Ho didn’t get a lot of screen time, I thought he was incredibly charming because he had his own story and played the role of introducing various events to viewers. When I was acting, I had to struggle to find my older brother, but I also had to record what was happening inside so I paid most attention to maintaining that tension. He was honest and determined and the character there with the best sense of justice.” The only thing he says he would do differently if he were given the chance is to share more scenes with his Squid Game co-stars. “I do wish that I could’ve had more scenes with the other actors,” he told Vulture. “The fact that I was able to play a character in such a huge series, as someone who led and held up my own storyline, was very daunting. I felt a heavy burden. But the fact that I was able to do this brings me pride, and I feel like I grew as an actor.”

Will Wi Ha-Joon be in Squid Game Season 2?

While we’d love to see Jun-ho return to the series, Ha-Joon admits he has no idea if there will be a second season of Squid Game, let alone if his character will return for it. “I’m also dying to find out. I haven’t heard anything, so I really want to know what happened,” he admitted to Vulture. “If there is to be a season two, and if Jun-ho is to return, then I personally hope we can look into his relationship with his brother, as well as what made his brother make these choices and led him to being there. That’s my personal wish.”

What is Wi Ha-Joon’s real name?

Ha-Joon’s full name is Wi Hyeon-yi. His stage name is sometimes also spelled Wi Ha-Jun.

Does Wi Ha-Joon speak English?

Ha-Joon speaks English, but he says he isn’t quite confident in his fluency. “When I was shooting the VIP scene, one of the things I was concerned about was having to deliver lines in English,” he told Vulture. “It was the first time for me to do a scene with non-Korean actors on set, so I did a lot of preparation, and I was very grateful for my co-actor because he had great energy, and just went into it. He made the overall environment very lighthearted, so I was able to really get into the role and get into that emotional scene.”

How old is Wi Ha-Joon?

Ha-Joon’s birthday is Aug. 5, 1991, making him 30 years old at the time Squid Game hit Netflix on Sept. 17, 2021.

How tall is Wi Ha-Joon?

Ha-Joon is 5'11".

Where can I see Wi Ha-Joon’s abs?

Ha-Joon showed off his washboard abs on the October 2021 cover of Men’s Health Korea. He looks fantastic, but he’s pretty modest and downright sheepish about it. “It just makes me blush,” he admitted to Vulture. “I was actually born a very skinny kid; before joining the military I was at about 125 pounds. But I’m extremely grateful. All of those comments calling me sexy and whatnot on those pictures, it brings me a lot of joy but it also just puts me to shame. If I had known that it would blow up as much as it has, I would’ve worked out more and put in more time to appear better, physically, in front of the fans.”

What is Wi Ha-Joon’s IG?

You can follow Wi Ha-Joon on Instagram at @wi_wi_wi. Since Squid Game premiered, his follower count has increased tenfold to upwards of 5 million. (When you swipe through the photos below, you’ll see why!) Ha-Joon told Vulturethat while he doesn’t take his status as a sex symbol too seriously, he does hope that the popularity of Korean actors and K-pop stars will create more onscreen representation, including as resident hotties where need be. “I feel very proud and confident,” he said. “I hope that, not just me, but many [Asian] actors in the future can meet fans globally through roles that are righteous, cool, and that are sexy and attractive on-screen.”

Who is Wi Ha-Joon’s wife?

She doesn’t exist! While he keeps his private life very private, Ha-Joon is reportedly single. (Take a number between 001 and 456 and get in line!)

Does Wi Ha-Joon have a daughter?

Ha-Joon doesn’t have a daughter that we know of, but he does have a niece who he adores and calls his “princess.” How precious are they together?

Was Wi Ha-Joon in the military?

Ha-Joon served in the military, as is mandated in South Korea, and it served him well in getting fit for his movies. “I have been building muscle with bodyweight training since I was in the military,” he said. “I usually go to the gym five days a week to work out, but now I do it at home due to the pandemic.”

What are Wi Ha-Joon’s movies?

Before starring in Squid Game, Ha-Joon starred in several K-dramas and rom-coms. He’s had star turns in such South Korean TV series as Romance Is A Bonus Book, 18 Again, and Something In the Rain. He told Vulturehe turned to acting in part to improve his own confidence, and thankfully, it’s worked out beautifully for him. “Since I was very young, I had relatively low self-esteem and I wasn’t satisfied with myself,” he confessed. “Working as an actor and giving these performances and seeing how people respond with love and how people recognize what I do, and also seeing people feel joy through the works I participate in, it’s really changed my life for the better. Part of the reason why I act is because my parents love it so much. There’s a lot of challenges and pain that’s part of the process, but seeing how happy it makes my parents motivates me to do better and be better. My father often tells me that I have to be a good person above all else.” Next, lighten up the dark drama and trauma of Squid Game with the best Squid Game memes.

Who Is Wi Ha Joon  All About the  Squid Game  Police Officer Who Stole Our Hearts - 35