The announcement first came courtesy of Kim Kardashian West, who shared the news in a heartfelt message on Instagram addressed “to our amazing fans.” “It is with heavy hearts that we’ve made the difficult decision as a family to say goodbye to Keeping Up with the Kardashians,” the statement read. “After what will be 14 years, 20 seasons, hundreds of episodes and numerous spin-off shows, we are beyond grateful to all of you who’ve watched us for all of these years–through the good times, the bad times, the happiness, the tears, and the many relationships and children. We’ll forever cherish the wonderful memories and countless people we’ve met along the way.” Kim shared that the show’s last season will run in early 2021. “Without Keeping Up with The Kardashians, I wouldn’t be where I am today,” she said. “I am so incredibly grateful to everyone who has watched and supported me and my family these past 14 incredible years. This show made us who we are and I will be forever in debt to everyone who played a role in shaping our careers and changing our lives forever.” Khloé Kardashian shared a similar statement on Instagram, but added this in the caption: “I’m too emotional to fully express myself at the moment. My sappy post will come soon. Change is hard but also needed at times❤️.” Kourtney Kardashian posted the statement on her Instagram Stories and added, “I will gather my thoughts and share them in a bit.” Kendall Jenner posted a screengrab of Kim’s statement on her Instagram Stories and momager Kris Jennershared the same statement as Kim, with a personal note, thanking fans. Kylie Jenner didn’t post anything about the news. Kris phoned into On Air With Ryan Seacrest the day after the announcement was made and opened up to radio host and KUWTK creator Ryan Seacrest. “It’s funny, when we talked yesterday, I kinda had my wits about me and I thought I was really strong. And, you know, this is the right decision,” she said. “Today I wake up and I was thinking about the first time you and I ever did an interview on the air, and I was so excited and so nervous.” She said the decision hasn’t sunk in yet. “I woke up and was in the gym at 5 o’clock with Khloé and Kim and we just kind of sat there and looked at each other and said, ‘Whoa, what a ride.’ It was quite the morning.” She said she and her family are “grateful for every single moment” and called KUWTK the “best home movies we’ll ever be able to produce.” A big question fans have is, why is the show is ending? After all, KUWTK has been a hit for more than a decade. And, while the family has openly talked about wrapping things up in the past, they’ve always continued to pump out more seasons. Kris told Seacrest it was simply “the right time.” She added, “I think the number 20, well it used to sound good until 2020, but the number 20, it just seemed like the right time,” the Kardashian-Jenner matriarch explained. “I think for us to take a minute and breathe and everybody slow down a bit. Not slow down professionally, but just you know figure out what our next steps are.” Both Khloe and Kourtney’s posts suggested that they weren’t entirely prepared for this, so…what’s going on here? There are some theories floating around out there. We break them down here:

Theory No. 1: Kim’s priorities

Technically, KUWTK is an ensemble cast. But Kim has been the show’s star since the beginning. And, if she decides she wants out, it’s understandable that the show would wrap up. At the moment, Kim is living in Los Angeles with the couple’s four children, and her husband Kanye West is living in Wyoming. Kanye recently claimed in a series of July tweets (that have since been deleted) that he’s been trying to divorce his wife since 2020 when she met with rapper Meek Mill during a criminal justice reform summit. A source later told PEOPLE magazine that “things have broken down significantly between” the couple, and that it, “happened pretty suddenly.” Kim later released a statement on her Instagram Stories and said that things with her husband were “incredibly complicated and painful.” “As many of you know, Kanye has bipolar disorder. Anyone who has this or has a loved one in their life who does, knows how incredibly complicated and painful it is to understand,” she wrote. “I’ve never spoken publicly about how this has affected us at home because I am very protective of our children and Kanye’s right to privacy when it comes to his health. But today, I feel like I should comment on it because of the stigma and misconceptions about mental health… Those who are close with Kanye know his heart and understand his words some times do not align with his intentions.” Kim was later photographed meeting with Kanye in Wyoming and, according to PEOPLE, West recently flew to Los Angeles to see his children. Clearly, Kanye’s health is a major priority in Kim’s life, understandably so. And we all know the toll reality TV can take on a person. Plus, if she wants to continue shielding her kids, she may have decided it was best to do all of this slightly out of the spotlight. “Kim and Kanye are doing well. Kanye is in a better mental state. Their marriage still needs work, but Kim is getting across to him. He is not shutting her out and wants to be with his family,” a source told PEOPLE. If they truly are struggling, which we aren’t sure they are, this could be something Kim and Kanye want to keep off-camera.

Theory No. 2: Kris Jenner plans to take over the world

No, but really. Within hours of the news breaking, Kris’ name started trending on Twitter. More than a few people talked about how Kris must be ready to come up with a vaccine for COVID-19, start a new reality show or take over the world. Because…Kris Jenner.

Theory No. 3: Kanye is running for president

Kanye is running for president and, according to Politico, he’s on the ballot as an independent candidate in several states, including Arkansas, Idaho, Iowa, Mississippi, Tennessee, Oklahoma and Utah. It’s unclear how he feels about his family’s life played out on national television while he’s campaigning, but it technically could be a factor.

Theory No. 4: No one wants to film anymore, especially Kourtney 

Kourtney has made it very, very clear that she’s no longer interested in filming the show. In an April episode, Kourtney laid it all out there. “I don’t understand why there’s all this judgment about the way we each want to live our lives. We should be accepted for what we each want to do. It’s not a positive environment for me to want to be in every day when I feel like they’re so critical of me,” she said. “Every day I’m coming in, I’m like, ‘Why am I choosing to be in this environment?’ And I think I just reached my point of not being able to tolerate it anymore.” Kourtney also publicly had friction with Kim over filming the show. In a July 2020 cover story for Vogue Arabia, Kourtney said she would no longer be on KUWTK. “I have been filming the show non-stop for 14 years… I was feeling unfulfilled and it became a toxic environment for me to continue to have it occupy as much of my life as it was,” she shared. “Privacy is something I have come to value and finding that balance of private moments with being on a reality show is hard. People have this misconception that I don’t want to work, which isn’t true. I am following my happiness and putting my energy into that which makes me happy.”

Theory No. 5: Rob doesn’t want to be on camera either

Rob Kardashian has been reluctant to appear on camera for years. However, he did do his own spin-off show, Rob & Chyna, in 2016. Kim said during an appearance on Watch What Happens Live in 2019 that her brother isn’t always comfortable being on the show, although he’ll pop in here and there. “He has his moods. Sometimes he’s like, ‘Look, I didn’t sign up for this’ and then he’s like, ‘I’m cool to do it,’” she said.

Theory No. 6: Kendall and Kylie aren’t into it anymore

Kendall and Kylie haven’t been on the show that much recently, something that Khloé explained in a tweet last year. “Kendall and Kylie have different contracts,” she said, of their lack of appearances. “Kourt, Kim and I have an equal contract.” Kendall is also busy with her modeling career and Kylie is occupied being a mom and millionaire, so… Next, we’re breaking down every Bachelorette Season 16 spoiler and rumor, so far! 

Why is  Keeping Up With the Kardashians  Ending  Rumors Explained - 50